If you’ve been on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram or literally online over the last few days you won’t have missed the name FaceApp or the photos of friends and celebrities looking older or younger versions of themselves.

FaceApp is a photo-morphing app that uses artificial intelligence and neural face transformations to make alterations to faces based on photos you upload. The app pulls photos from your library and then uses server-side technologies to process your photos and add filters within it’s own cloud hosting.

So, what does this all mean for your privacy and is it a concern? Well, FaceApp collects, stores, and can use your data, if needed, based on their privacy policy and terms on its site.

But is this anything new? No, not really. It’s totally above board according to Apple, and Twitter has similar licencing allowing them to use your content however they like, if desired.

A part of their terms reads: “You grant FaceApp a perpetual, irrevocable, nonexclusive, royalty-free, worldwide, fully-paid, transferable sub-licensable license to use, reproduce, modify, adapt, publish, translate, create derivative works from, distribute, publicly perform and display your User Content and any name, username or likeness provided in connection with your User Content in all media formats and channels now known or later developed, without compensation to you.”

That sounds a little scary. They can do what they like with your photos, they can user your username, your name, your likeness… and practically do whatever. However this is commonplace online, apps especially like to provide length terms of service which allow anything and everything based on what you upload.

It’s up to you what you take from this. This app is being built and managed by developers in Russia, which has also worried some online who feel it could be part of a bigger data mining scam, but there’s no real evidence for this just yet…

Another concern of some users online is the fact it doesn’t have to request access to your photos before pulling them into the app. TechCrunch have gone into a lot of detail on this which you can read here.

Apple API introduced this hurdle-jumper in iOS 11 which allows developers to let a user pick one single photo from a system dialog to let the app work on. It can’t see any of your photos until you tap one, and means the app doesn’t get access to your whole library – just what you select. In Apples eyes, by you clicking – you’re giving consent.

It then processes the photo via the cloud. The issue here is that this means your personal data is being transferred off your device onto a cloud based system. Say your photo included a credit card number, that information could be compromised.

This is just a face swap and editing app – so you wouldn’t expect major security breaches, but it does highlight how open we are to granting access and giving apps our data without a second thought.

Does the above surprise you? Would you now think twice before downloading these type of apps?